Hackensack-Based Attorneys For First-Offense DWI

Our Statewide DWI Attorneys Understand First-Offense DWI Consequences And Will Fight For You.

If you face first-time DWI (DUI/drunk driving) charges in New Jersey, you probably have questions about the penalties you face. You may wonder if it's worth fighting the charge, especially if the police claim to have a strong case against you. However, the consequences of a drunk driving conviction are simply too harsh to hope for leniency from the prosecutor. At the Rem Law Group, our team of DWI attorneys know the DWI defense strategies that often prove effective and are prepared to help you mount an aggressive defense against your first-time drunk driving charges.

Our lawyers have extensive experience handling DWI cases for clients in Hackensack, across Bergen County and throughout New Jersey. We understand the emotional trauma that comes with being charged with a DWI, and we walk our clients through the process, always staying by their side.

Contact us 24/7 at 201-488-1234 to discuss your case with an experienced first-offense DWI lawyer in Hackensack.

First-Offense DWI Penalties In New Jersey

If you are convicted of DWI in New Jersey, your license will be suspended, and you will face steep fines and penalties; your insurance rates will skyrocket; and you will be required to attend alcohol intoxication classes. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device (a mini-breath testing device) on your vehicle, face jail time and attend out-patient therapy.

Penalties scale upward depending on the blood alcohol content (BAC) of the defendant. A person with a BAC of 0.15 percent will face significantly harsher penalties than someone with a BAC of 0.08 percent.

There are other potential consequences that most people don't know about. You may be barred from entering Canada for up to five years. You may not be allowed to own vanity license plates for your vehicle. You may be required to visit a morgue to see the victims of drunk drivers.

Remember, a DWI conviction never comes off your record. A potential employer could look at your driver's history 10 years from now or 20 years from now, and pass you over because he or she just can't take on the risk.

Contact A Member Of Our Experienced DWI Team

The time to fight this charge is now. Our lawyers know how to fight DWI charges in New Jersey and we are available 24 hours a day, seven days a week at 201-488-1234 to discuss your case. You can also email us, and one of our lawyers will contact you shortly.

Additional DUI Information