Bergen County First-Offense DWI Attorney
Defending Bergen County clients facing a first DWI
New Jersey takes driving under the influence of alcohol very seriously. The state has made recent changes to DWI laws that went into effect at the end of 2019. Those who are arrested for a DWI face serious consequences. A DWI conviction could subject a person to overwhelming fines, fees, surcharges, jail time, a suspended license, and community service hours. It is essential that anyone charged with a DWI retains the services of an experienced DWI defense attorney. New Jersey does not provide a hardship license for those guilty of this offense. This could seriously impact one’s ability to hold gainful employment and other facets of everyday life. If you require strong legal representation from a team of attorneys who will fight on your behalf, contact Rem Katcher Law Group today for a consultation.
First Offense DWI
To determine whether an individual is driving under the influence of alcohol, it is necessary to assess their blood alcohol content (BAC). An individual may be considered under the influence if he or she is driving with a blood alcohol content of 0.08% or higher. In New Jersey, a DWI is separated into different tiers based upon the percentage of alcohol in one’s blood system. The penalties for an individual with a BAC higher than 0.08% but less than 0.10% include the following:
- A maximum of 30 days of incarceration
- Driver’s license suspension for 3 months
- $1,000 surcharge each year for 3 years
- A fine between $250 and $400
- 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
- A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
- A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
- A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
Individuals who are caught driving under the influence of alcohol under the age of 21 could find themselves in serious trouble. In New Jersey, an underage person assessed with a blood alcohol content of 0.01 percent or more could result in an Underage DWI charge. This individual may face a license suspension between 30 and 90 days, 15-30 days of community service, completion of programs at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, and related fees.
Permitting Another Person to Drive Your Car
In New Jersey, laws regarding driving under the influence are very strict. Sometimes, an individual who has consumed too much alcohol will allow a friend to drive his or her car home because they believe the other person is less intoxicated. However, if the friend that drives the individual’s car is charged with a DWI, the owner of the car could be charged as well. Though it may have seemed like a responsible decision, the owner of the car could face serious repercussions. It is always best to make alternative plans.
Contact an experienced DWI attorney
If you have been charged with a DWI in New Jersey, it is important that you contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible. If you are convicted of a DWI, you are facing serious penalties that could impact your life. We understand that your future is at stake. Attorneys Rem and Katcher from the Rem Katcher Law Group are ready to take on your case. Contact our firm today to schedule a consultation.