Bergen County Second Offense DWI Attorneys
Defending NJ Clients when faced with a second DWI
Anyone convicted of a first DWI knows that there are serious consequences attached to the offense. However, when an individual is charged with a second offense DWI charge, the penalties escalate. New Jersey is very strict about its DWI laws and aims to hold those that violate them accountable. Like many other offenses, when a person already has a conviction on his or her record, another offense is only going to result in harsher penalties. New Jersey does not provide for hardship licenses, allowing a person with a DWI conviction to drive to and from work and other important obligations. This can seriously impact one’s life and livelihood. It is essential that if charged with a second offense DWI, you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney at Rem Katcher Law Group. Our attorneys can provide you with the quality legal support you need to work through this difficult time. We understand that your future is at stake and are prepared to fight these charges by exploring all legal defenses and providing effective DWI defense services. Contact Rem Katcher Law Group today for a consultation.
Second Offense DWI
New Jersey is adamant about stopping individuals who drive while intoxicated, as they put the lives of others at risk. Those who have multiple DWI convictions can face a hostile court system. If a person is charged with a second offense DWI within 10 years of the previous offense, he or she may face:
- Up to 90 days of incarceration
- Driver’s license suspension for 2 years
- A fine between $500 and $1,000
- 12-48 hours in New Jersey’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
- $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
Ignition Interlock Devices
In addition to the consequences above, second-offenders are often required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. This device requires an individual to blow into a device that measures his or her blood alcohol content before the vehicle will start. If any alcohol is detected on the person’s breath, the vehicle will not start. Typically, an ignition interlock device is installed during the period of driver’s license suspension and for an additional 2-4 years after driving privileges have been restored.
DWI’s for Intoxicated Passengers
When an intoxicated person asks a seemingly less intoxicated friend to drive his or her car and that person gets charged with a DWI, the owner may be charged with a DWI as well. Though it may have seemed like a responsible decision, having a drunk person drive one’s car is equally illegal.
Contact an experienced Hackensack NJ Second Offense DWI Attorney
When faced with a second-offense DWI, it is important to know that there is still hope with the help of an experienced DWI defense attorney. Our firm will assess the facts of your case and zealously represent your needs in court. Rem Katcher Law Group understands that your future is at stake. We are committed to exploring every avenue of defense on your behalf. Contact an experienced attorney at Rem Katcher Law Group today if you have been charged with a second DWI.