Bergen County Third Offense DWI Attorneys
DWI Third Offense DWI Attorneys in Hackensack, NJ
A DWI is a serious offense. The state is hostile towards repeat offenses. When an individual is charged with a DWI, the consequences can be overwhelming. However, when an individual has already been convicted of a first and second-offense DWI, he or she could face devastating consequences. If you are facing a third DWI or more, the odds are stacked against you. You will not be able to obtain a hardship license to meet your everyday obligations and you could face time in jail. It is imperative to retain the services of seasoned and successful third offense DWI attorneys. Rem Katcher Law Group understands what is at stake and has the skill and tenacity to defend you when you need it most. Contact Rem Katcher Law Group today for strong legal representation that is ready to fight for you.
Third and Subsequent DWI Consequences
When an individual is charged with a third or subsequent DWI in New Jersey, knowing the consequences is important. Some of these consequences may include:
- A maximum of 180 days of incarceration
- Driver’s license suspension for 10 years
- A $1,500 surcharge each year for 3 years
- 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
- $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
- $75 Neighborhood Services Fund
- $1000 fine
- Mandatory Ignition interlock device
Ignition Interlock Device
When a person is charged with a third DWI, they face years with no driver’s license. When and if they get those privileges back, they are most likely going to be ordered to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. An ignition interlock device is an instrument installed into the driver’s car to make sure they do not have any blood alcohol content when they drive. Each time the driver gets into his or her vehicle, they will be required to take a breath test. If the ignition interlock device detects any alcohol, the car will not start. It will be required throughout the time in which the driver’s license is suspended and for an additional 1-3 years driving privileges have been restored.
Passenger DWI in New Jersey
A vehicle owner that allows an intoxicated person to operate his or her vehicle could also be charged with a DWI. In a situation like this, a vehicle owner with two or more DWI convictions could be facing harsher penalties than the person who was actually driving the vehicle.
Contact Experienced Bergen County Third Offense DWI Attorneys
A third or subsequent DWI charge is a serious matter. If you are arrested for a third or subsequent DWI, retaining the services of an effective attorney is imperative. Rem Katcher Law Group has decades of experience in DWI defense. Our firm will explore all defenses to fight these charges and protect your rights. Contact us today if you require strong legal representation for a third or subsequent DWI charge.