Over the years, people’s cell phone usage has greatly increased and become a large part of everyday lives. This has especially been seen with the expansion of smartphones in more recent years. People use their phones at many different moments during the day. Unfortunately, this even includes while driving a car. Using a cell phone while operating a vehicle is a very serious offense in the state of New Jersey. The use of any electronic device behind the wheel of a vehicle, without the assistance of hands-free technology, is considered a traffic violation. With this increase in cell phone usage, traffic laws were also changed and upgraded. The state of New Jersey has strict laws for cell phone usage while operating a vehicle. Those who are in violation of these laws may face harsh consequences as a result.
Types of Cell Phone Violations
When a driver uses a cell phone behind the wheel, they are putting themselves and others on the road in danger. By doing this, it means the driver is not giving their full attention to the road and their surroundings. This can cause very serious injuries and even death in some cases. Examples of cell phone violations may include but are not limited to:
- Talking on a handheld mobile phone
- Writing, sending, reading, or receiving any data over the phone. This may include text messages, emails, or the use of social media
- Searching through the internet
- Watching or taking any pictures or videos
- Playing games
Drivers who are found using a cell phone can be pulled over on the road by a law enforcement officer. The officer may issue a ticket to the driver. This can result in certain penalties depending on the offense. Consequences for a cell phone violation in the state of New Jersey may include:
- A fine between $200 and $400 for a driver’s first offense
- A fine between $400 and $600 for a driver’s second offense
- A fine between $600 and $800 in addition to 3 points issued on the driver’s record for a third or subsequent offense. This may also require a license suspension for 90 days.
It is important to know that if an individual is issued a cell phone violation more than 10 years after another conviction for the same offense, it is not considered a subsequent offense.
Contact our Firm
If you or someone you know is facing a cell phone violation and wishes to speak with an experienced attorney, contact REM Law Group P.C. today.