The state of New Jersey is strict on drivers who are found to be intoxicated while they are operating a motor vehicle. Harsh consequences are in store for those found guilty of DWI.
The police use a breath test to determine your BAC. For those who are 21 years of age or older, their blood alcohol content (BAC) cannot be 0.08% or greater. Those who are under the legal drinking age of 21 years old can be charged with DWI if their BAC is 0.01% or greater. The police will also use psycho-physical testing to observe a driver’s ability to perform the tests and then draw conclusions about whether the person is too intoxicated to drive.
How can a DWI charge affect me?
Drivers who are convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol face various consequences. The level of a driver’s BAC as well as whether the driver has prior DWI convictions has a direct impact on the court’s sentence. A first time DWI offender can face a minimum license suspension of 3 months while a third-time offender can face a minimum license suspension of 10 years. A second or subsequent DWI offender faces incarceration up to 180 days in the county jail. First time DWI offenders with a BAC of 0.15% or greater and second and subsequent DWI offenders are required to have an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed on their vehicles for a period of time. DWI offenders also face required attendance at the Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center, an educational program; and various mandatory fines and surcharges.
If a driver has prior DWI convictions and is stopped for driving while his license is suspended for DWI, he can face felony charges which require a minimum of 180 days incarceration
If there was an accident where someone was hurt or killed, a DWI offender will face more serious charges in addition to the DWI.
If you have been charged with a DWI, other motor vehicle violation, or a crime in New Jersey, Rem Katcher Law Group, P.C. is here to help. Contact our firm today.