The state of New Jersey has strict laws regarding drug possession. It is illegal to purchase, possess, distribute, or sell drugs within the state. When facing drug possession charges, it is crucial to retain the services of an experienced attorney to help your case.
Consequences of Drug Possession
When a person is found in possession of drugs, they can face certain penalties. These penalties can vary depending on the type of drug and the amount of it that was in the individual’s possession. The laws in the state of New Jersey are as follows:
- Possession of Marijuana: If a person is in possession of fewer than 50 grams of marijuana, they can be facing a disorderly persons offense. Consequences can include up to 6 months in jail, a $1000 fine, loss of driver’s license, and court-ordered drug rehabilitation. Those in possession of more than 50 grams can face up to 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $15,000.
- Possession of Narcotics or Controlled Dangerous Substances: This includes drugs such as cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, acid, ecstasy, and more. Offenders can face 3 to 5 years in prison, a fine between $1000 and $25,000, loss of driver’s license, and mandatory drug education and rehabilitation programs.
- Possession of Drug Paraphernalia: Consequences can include up to 6 months in jail, a fine between $500 and $1000, and a suspended driver’s license for up to 2 years.
- Simple Possession of Prescription Drugs: Offenders can be charged with a third-degree indictable offense, facing up to 5 years in prison and significant fines.
Consequences of Drug Possession Intent to Distribute
The possession of a drug with an intent to distribute is a very serious charge. Similar to regular possession, the consequences can vary depending on the type and amount of the drug. The laws within the state are as follows:
A person in possession of marijuana can face the following offenses:
- Fourth Degree: The intent to distribute one ounce of marijuana. The individual may face 18 months in jail and a fine of up to $15,000.
- Third Degree: The intent to distribute more than one ounce but less than 5 pounds. Consequences can include up to 5 years in prison and a fine up to $25,000.
- Second Degree: The quantity is between 5 and 25 pounds. Consequences can include prison for 10 years and fine up to $75,000.
- First Degree: The quantity is over 25 pounds. Consequences can include 20 years in prison and a fine up to $300,000.
A person caught with heroin or cocaine can face the following penalties:
- Less than one-half of an ounce can result in prison up to 5 years and a fine up to $75,000.
- More than one-half an ounce by less than 5 ounces can result in prison up to 10 years and a fine up to $75,000.
- More than 5 ounces can result in prison for 20 years and a fine up to $500,000.
Those found with the intent to distribute LSD can face the following:
- Less than 100 milligrams can result in up to 10 years in prison and a fine up to $75,000.
- More than 100 milligrams can result in 20 years in prison and a fine of $500,000.
Contact our Firm
If you or someone you know was charged with drug possession, contact REM Katcher Law Group P.C. today.