DUI for Commercial Drivers in New Jersey

The state of New Jersey takes driving under the influence of alcohol very seriously. When the driver of a commercial vehicle is charged with driving under the influence, they are risking the lives of everyone around them in addition to risking the future of their career. It is also important to note that a driver can lose his or her commercial driver’s license even if they were operating their own passenger vehicle at the time.

A first DUI conviction for a commercial driver’s license holder who was driving a passenger vehicle will result in a passenger driver’s license suspension between 3 and 12 months, and a commercial driver’s license suspension for 1 year. A second DUI in a passenger vehicle will result in the suspension of the individual’s regular driver’s license for 2 years and permanent revocation of their commercial driver’s license.

If a person is convicted of a DUI while operating a commercial vehicle, he or she will face a 1-year suspension. If they were arrested for a DUI while operating a commercial vehicle that was transporting hazardous materials, he or she will not be able to operate a commercial vehicle for 3 years. If an individual commits a second offense of transporting hazardous materials in a commercial motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance, they will never be able to operate a commercial vehicle again.

DUI Defenses in NJ

There are a number of possible defenses that may be available when you are fighting a DUI charge in New Jersey. Our firm will assess the conditions surrounding your stop and your arrest. A few defenses that our firm has successfully used in the past include illegal stops, failure to abide by the 20-minute rule, failure to issue Miranda warnings, and improper administration of field sobriety tests. After you have been charged with a DUI as a commercial driver, it is critical that you speak with an experienced DUI defense attorney that can help you protect your future when so much is on the line. 

If you have been charged with a DUI as a commercial driver’s license holder, it is important that you consult with an experienced attorney who can provide you with assistance.

If you or your family member has been charged with a DWI, having an experienced criminal defense team available to advocate on your behalf is crucial. The Rem Katcher Law Group, P.C. is here to help. Contact our firm today.