In New Jersey, a person convicted of a DWI can face very serious consequences, including fines, surcharges, mandatory attendance at alcohol education courses, and jail time. Depending on the circumstances of the offense, the court may also require the installation of an ignition interlock device. Continue reading below to learn more about this device and be sure to contact an experienced New Jersey DWI attorney for help with your case.
What is an Ignition Interlock Device?
If a person is convicted of a DWI in New Jersey, the court may require the installation of an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. This device connects to the steering column and requires the individual to blow a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) less than 0.05%. If they do not, the vehicle will not start. Once the vehicle is started, the device requires additional breaths while the vehicle is in motion. If these additional breaths are not provided in a timely manner, the vehicle will begin to flash the headlights and beep the horn.
When Will the Device be Installed?
As of December 1, 2019, drivers who are convicted of DWI as a first offense and have a BAC of less than 0.15% they must have an interlock device installed on their vehicle for a period from 3-12 months. For a first offender with a BAC of more than 0.15%, the interlock must be installed on the vehicle for 9-15 months. Similarly, for a first offense Refusal conviction, the interlock must be installed for a period of 9-15 months.
Those who receive a second DWI may be required to have the device installed while their license is suspended as well as for 2-4 years after it is reinstated. This is the same for drivers with a third DWI conviction. It is important to note that if the driver does not have the device installed as required and they are stopped for a motor vehicle violation, the judge can mandate an additional year of their license suspension.
The court may also order the interlock device to remain on the vehicle after the initial date for removal if the interlock data shows that the driver tried to start the vehicle with a BAC of .08% or higher in the last 30 days for the installation period. The interlock provider must provide a certification to MVC stating that the driver complied with all maintenance and did not have a violation in the last 30 days in order for the IID to be removed.
Contact our Firm
When facing a DWI charge, it is important to retain the services of an experienced DWI defense attorney who can advocate for you. The Rem Katcher Law Group, P.C. is here to help. Contact our firm today.