When an individual in New Jersey is pulled over on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol, the police officer will need to determine the person’s blood alcohol content (“BAC”). If an individual’s blood alcohol content is below .10% he or she will be charged with DWI and if convicted will lose their license for 3 months. If the BAC is .10% or higher, the penalties are ae more severe, including a loss of a driver’s license for 7-12 months (1-2 years if in a school zone no matter what the BAC). Other penalties include:
- Up to 30 days incarceration
- A fine between $250 and $500
- 12-48 hours of courses in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
- $125 to the Drunk Driving Fund
- $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
- Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device during the time the license is suspended and for 6 to 12 months after the license is restored
An ignition interlock device is a breath testing device installed in your car. It tests the driver’s breath at startup, and if the reading is over a minimal level, it will not start. It also will require the driver to pull over at other times during the trip for re-testing. Drivers are responsible for the cost of installation and a monthly fee for the device in addition to the penalties above.
If you have been charged with committing a DWI offense in New Jersey and were required to submit to Alcotest breath testing, contact The Rem Katcher Law Group today for strong legal representation. Our firm is committed to fighting for your future.