If an individual in New Jersey is pulled over on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol, they may be subject to a blood alcohol content test. Blood alcohol content is often determined by a chemical breath test or a blood test. If the test finds that a driver has a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher, they may be charged with driving under the influence and, if convicted, will face very serious penalties. When a driver’s blood alcohol content is above 0.10 percent, the consequences are even more severe.
The escalated penalties of a driving under the influence with a high blood alcohol content for a first-time offender in New Jersey are as follows:
- Up to 30 days of incarceration
- A fine between $300 and $500
- A driver’s license suspension for 7-12 months (please note that New Jersey does not have an option for a hardship license, so this will further impact daily life)
- Additional fines that include:
- $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
- $100 to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
- $100 to the Drunk Driving Fund
- The installation of an ignition interlock device throughout the license suspension period as well as for 6-12 months after the license is restored
- The individual will be responsible for the cost of the device
- Between 12 and 48 hours of participation at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
If you have been charged with driving under the influence in New Jersey with a high BAC, it is essential to retain the services of an attorney that can evaluate defenses on your behalf. Contact Rem Katcher Law Group today to discuss your options.