Happy Holidays to all!
During this festive time of year, we are often attending parties and going out with friends and family to celebrate the holidays and ring in the new year. While we are celebrating, it is important to be aware that law enforcement throughout New Jersey will also be out on the roads to ensure that drivers are being safe. Law enforcement is well aware that rates of driving under the influence markedly increase during the holidays.
After your parties and festivities and before getting behind the wheel of your car, it is important to understand the consequences of a driving while intoxicated conviction.
Penalties of DWI
A conviction for a first DWI in New Jersey may include all or a combination of the following penalties:
- A maximum of 30 days of incarceration
- Driver’s license suspension for 3-12 months
- $1,000 surcharge to the State of New Jersey each year for 3 years
- A fine between $250 and $400
- 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
- A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
- A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee
- Installation of an ignition interlock device for 6-12 months
Penalties of Underage DWI
Individuals who are under the age of 21 years old and caught driving with a blood alcohol level of 0.01% but less than 0.08% are subject to penalties for an Underage DWI. These consequences may include:
- License suspension for up to 90 days
- Community service for up to 30 days
- Participation in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center or other alcohol education program
If you are charged with a DWI in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced attorney. Contact the legal team at Rem Katcher Law Group, P.C. today.