Labor Day Weekend DUI Crackdowns

The unofficial end of summer is already here and with that, comes the last of the barbeques, shore trips, and three-day weekends. With Labor Day Weekend upon us, it is important to be aware that law enforcement throughout New Jersey will once again be taking part in crackdowns to ensure that drivers are being safe. Law enforcement is well aware that rates of driving under the influence seem to spike with each holiday weekend. Not only that, college students are back on campuses throughout New Jersey, looking to celebrate being back with friends for a new school year. Between looking for drunk drivers as well as taking steps to hold underage drinkers and the establishments that serve them accountable, both state and local police departments have their work cut out for them.

Penalties of DUI

When an individual is charged with a first offense of driving while intoxicated in New Jersey, they are facing serious consequences.These include:

  • A maximum of 30 days of incarceration
  • Driver’s license suspension for 3 months
  • $1,000 surcharge each year for 3 years
  • A fine between $250 and $400
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center and applicable fees
  • A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

Penalties of Underage DWI

Individuals who are under the age of 21 years old are not permitted to have a BAC of higher than 0.01 percent. The penalties of an Underage DWI charge can result in the following consequences:

  • License suspension for 30-90 days
  • 15-30 days of community service
  • Fees & Fines
  • Participation at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

If you are charged with a DUI in New Jersey, it is essential to retain the services of an experienced attorney. Contact the legal team at Rem Law Group, P.C. today.