Law enforcement officers aim to keep both drivers and pedestrians safe on New Jersey’s roads. If a driver has been pulled over for committing a traffic infraction, they may be facing serious fines and penalties that may ultimately result in loss of license or skyrocketing insurance premiums.
Many traffic violations in New Jersey result in points on your driver’s license and the accumulation of points can subject a person to further consequences. For example, earning at least 6 points in a 3-year period will require you to pay a surcharge of $150 for 3 years. If you have more than 6 points in 3 years, you will have to pay an additional $25 for each additional point. Additionally, once you have 12 points or more on your license, you could be subject to a license suspension.
How can I reduce accumulated points?
Drivers who successfully go one full year without an additional traffic violation or license suspension may have 3 points deducted from their license. Drivers who participate in New Jersey’s Probationary Driver Program or Driver Improvement Program may benefit from another 3-point deduction. Those who participate in New Jersey’s Defensive Driving Program will have 2 points deducted from their license. It is important to know that there are restrictions on these programs. The Defensive Driving Program will only reduce points once every 5 years and the Driver Improvement Program will only reduce points once every 2 years.
If you have been issued a ticket for a traffic violation in New Jersey, you may want to hire an attorney who can fight this infraction with the goal of reducing points, fines, and surcharges.