New DWI Law in New Jersey to Take Effect December 1, 2019

Recently, the state of New Jersey made a major change to its DWI laws. With these set to change on December 1, 2019, it is important for all residents to be aware of the new law. 

What has changed in the new DWI law?

The law in New Jersey has reduced the first-offense license suspension penalty and replaced it with a mandatory ignition interlock device installation. If it is an individual’s first offense DWI with a blood alcohol content (BAC) less than 0.10%, they may be subject to the following consequences:

  • License suspension until the date of installation of the ignition interlock device, then the interlock device remains on the vehicle for 3 months
  • A $250-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Up to 30 days of jail time

A person’s BAC has a significant impact on the penalties they face. If an individual is arrested with a BAC between 0.10% and 0.15%, they can face a license suspension until they install an interlock device, and then the device remains on the vehicle for 7-12 months. If a person is pulled over with a BAC over 0.15%, they must have their license suspended for 4-6 months during which the interlock must be on the vehicle and the interlock remains on the vehicle for 9-15 months after driving privileges are restored.

Consequences of a Second DWI Offense

In the state of New Jersey, penalties for a second DWI offense within 10 years of the previous conviction can include the following: 

  • Up to 90 days of jail time
  • A 1-2 year loss of license
  • Interlock device installation during the term of license suspension 
  • 2-4 years interlock installation after privileges restored
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

Penalties for a Third or Subsequent DWI Offense

The consequences of a third or subsequent DWI offense are severe, which is why it is important to hire an experienced attorney. This can include the following:

  • Up to 180 days of jail time
  • An 8-year loss of license with an interlock installed during the term
  • 2-4 years interlock after privileges are restored
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services fund fee

Contact our Firm

If you or your a loved one has been charged with driving under the influence, having an experienced criminal defense team available to advocate on your behalf is crucial. The Rem Katcher Law Group, P.C. is here to help. Contact our firm today.