Many citizens of New Jersey want to protect themselves, their businesses, and their families with a firearm. Though the Second Amendment grants citizens the right to bear arms, many states, including New Jersey, have strict gun laws. It is important to have an understanding of your rights and how you can legally own a gun in the state of New Jersey.
Where can I find information about how to apply for a gun permit in New Jersey?
If you want to apply for a permit to purchase a handgun, Firearms Purchaser Identification Card (FPIC) or a permit to carry a handgun, visit New Jersey’s website to get started with the filing process by clicking here.
When do I need to call an attorney to help me get my permit?
The following is a list of circumstances wherein an individual can be denied an FPID and handgun permit and needs to call an attorney:
- Any person who has been convicted of any crime, or a disorderly persons offense involving domestic violence whether or not armed with or possessing a weapon at the time of the offense
- Any drug-dependent person, those confined for a mental disorder to a hospital, mental institution or sanitarium, or to any habitual drunkard and those who lied on an application for a handgun purchase permit or firearms purchaser identification card
- Any person who suffers from a physical defect or disease which would make it unsafe for him or her to handle firearms
- Any person under the age of 18 years for a firearms purchaser identification card
- Any person under the age of 21 years for a permit to purchase a handgun
- Any person where the issuance would not be in the interest of the public health, safety or welfare
- Any person who is subject to a restraining order issued pursuant to the “Prevention of Domestic Violence Act of 1991,” prohibiting the person from possessing a firearm or whose firearm is seized pursuant to the Act and has not been returned
- Any person who as a juvenile was adjudicated delinquent for an offense which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a crime and the offense involved the unlawful use or possession of a weapon, explosive or destructive device
- Anyone on the Terrorist Watchlist maintained by the Terrorist Screening Center administered by the Federal Bureau of Investigation
- Anyone who is subject to a court order prohibiting the custody, control, ownership, purchase, possession, or receipt of a firearm or ammunition issued pursuant to the “Extreme Risk Protective Order Act of 2018”
This is the statutory list of prohibited people for an FPID or permit. Anyone who falls into these categories should not submit a form until discussing with an attorney to clear and prohibitions before applying. If the person submits an application and falls within these categories, the application will be denied.
New Jersey requires individuals who wish to purchase a handgun to obtain a Permit to purchase a handgun. Anyone who wishes to buy a rifle or shotgun must apply for a Firearms Purchaser Identification Card, otherwise known as an FPIC. To apply for a permit to purchase or an FPIC, the individual must complete the New Jersey State Police application which is available from your local police department, the New Jersey State Police, or from a licensed retail dealer. The same application is used both for permits to purchase and for FPICs. Along with the application, the individual must provide the police department with their driver’s license, 2 references who are not relatives, and a Consent for Mental Health Records Search. All first-time applicants must be fingerprinted so that a background check can be completed.
Individuals may have questions about how to answer questions posed in the application. It is best to seek the advice of an attorney familiar with New Jersey’s gun laws before submitting the form.
Once an individual obtains a purchasing permit and purchases a handgun, he may desire to apply for a permit to carry a handgun. In order to do so, the individual must complete an Application for Permit to Carry a Handgun. This is very difficult to obtain in New Jersey unless the applicant can show that a “justifiable need” to carry.
If you believe your application will be denied, contact the Rem Katcher Law Group today.