Despite the fact that marijuana is becoming legalized for recreational use in several states (and New Jersey is perhaps on the horizon of joining them), this state still has strict laws about the drug. In fact, marijuana is federally considered a Schedule I drug, meaning that it is considered one of the most dangerous and addictive. Possession of marijuana is a serious crime in New Jersey. If charged, an individual faces significant penalties, especially when there circumstantial evidence that he had intentions of distributing the drugs.
The penalties for the possession of marijuana are largely based on the amount of marijuana that the individual had on them at the time of the arrest. The penalties are as follows:
- If an individual has 50 grams or less, they will face a Disorderly Persons offense, a maximum of six months in jail, and a fine of up to $1000
- If an individual has more than 50 grams, they are facing a criminal conviction with consequences including up to 18 months in jail and a fine of up to $25,000.
No matter what the amount, anyone convicted of possessing marijuana will lose his driver’s license for at least six months and possibly as long as two years. If that individual is arrested within 1,000 feet of a school, there are additional fines and 100 hours of community service.
Of course, it is important to retain the services of an experienced criminal defense attorney. Rem Katcher Law Group has the skill it takes to assess all possible defenses for a marijuana possession charge, such as the arresting officer’s failure to read Miranda Rights or failure to obtain the necessary search warrant. If you have been arrested for the possession of marijuana, contact our firm today.