There seems to be a misconception that being caught with marijuana is not a big deal anymore because so many states are moving towards legalization. However, this is not the case in New Jersey because marijuana is still an illegal drug here. When an individual is charged with the possession of marijuana in New Jersey, he is facing serious repercussions. Some of the penalties that an individual charged with marijuana possession may face include:
- 6 months of incarceration, a maximum fine of $1000, and 6-24 months driver’s license suspension if the individual had 50 grams or less of marijuana in their possession
- Up to 1.5 years of incarceration, a fine of up to $25,000, and 6-24 months driver’s license suspension if the individual had more than 50 grams of marijuana in his or her possession
- Mandatory 2 years driver’s license suspension if you are found in possession of marijuana while driving a motor vehicle
It is important for someone charged with possession of marijuana to retain an experienced criminal defense attorney. An experienced criminal defense attorney can review all available defenses. An experienced criminal defense attorney may assess the following bases for possible defenses:
- Whether the arresting officer read you your Miranda Rights;
- Whether the arresting officer had proper cause to search you, your property, or your vehicle;
- Whether the arresting officer had proper cause to stop you or your vehicle before conducting a search.
Your criminal defense attorney may also work towards finding an alternate means to resolving your case, such as Drug Court, Pre-Trial Intervention, or Conditional Discharge. If you are facing charges of marijuana possession in New Jersey, contact Rem Katcher Law Group for quality legal representation.