Thanksgiving Eve DWIs in NJ | What You Should Know

Thanksgiving is a day where families gather to celebrate having each other and all they are grateful for. It’s not uncommon to have a drink or two on Thanksgiving as part of the celebration, and many of us do. There’s no problem with this, as long as we do not drive afterward. Unfortunately, the truth is, many people make the mistake of doing so, and if you’re one of them and you were charged with a DWI either this Thanksgiving or Thanksgiving Eve, you must read on and reach out to our knowledgeable New Jersey criminal defense attorneys to learn more about the potential consequences you may face for a first-offense DWI and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What happens if I am charged with a first-offense DWI with a BAC between .08% and .10% in New Jersey?

Those who’ve been charged with a first-offense DWI in New Jersey may face the following penalties:

  • Up to 30 days of jail time
  • Mandatory forfeiture of your driver’s license until you install the Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle
  • You must install and use the Ignition Interlock Device for three months
  • You will have to spend at least six hours per day for two consecutive days in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (a class)
  • You will be subjected to a mandatory fine
  • You will be subjected to an MVC surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years

What are the consequences of a first offense DWI in NJ with a BAC between .10% and .14%?

For a DWI with a BAC of .10%-.14%, you may face the following consequences:

  • Up to 30 days of jail time
  • At least six hours per day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • A mandatory fine
  • Mandatory forfeiture of your driver’s license until you install the Ignition Interlock Device in your vehicle
  • Mandatory installation and use of the Ignition Interlock Device between 7-12 months
  • You will face an MVC surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years

What happens if I receive a DWI with a BAC of .15% or more in New Jersey?

If you are arrested for a first-offense DWI with a Blood Alcohol Content that was .15% or higher, you may lose your driver’s license for 4-6 months and have to use the ignition interlock device in your vehicle for up to 21 months. You can also expect to have to pay mandatory fines, fees, and surcharges.

The bottom line is that no one accused of driving while intoxicated should have to face these charges on their own. Our firm is on your side, and we are prepared to help in any way we can.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

If you have recently been charged with a crime, you need knowledgeable legal counsel on your side. Our firm has helped countless individuals navigate the complex legal system for years, and we are ready to provide you with the legal assistance you deserve and need to move on with your life. Contact Rem Katcher Law Group, P.C. today to learn more about how our firm can assist you through this difficult time.