Underage DWIs in New Jersey | What You Need to Know

DWIs are extremely serious, no matter your age. Unfortunately, when someone is convicted of a DWI, it can affect their life for months or years to come. Those charged with DWIs who are under the age of 21 face a unique set of penalties, and if you are someone who has recently received an underage DWI, you must continue reading and speak with our experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorneys to learn more about the consequences of your charges and how we can help you fight them. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the standards for an underage DWI?

In New Jersey, when someone is arrested with a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher, they may be charged with a DWI. However, if you are under the age of 21, you may be charged with an underage DWI if you are caught operating your vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Content of .01% or higher.

What happens if I am charged with a DWI while under the age of 21 in New Jersey?

The consequences of an underage DWI in New Jersey are quite severe, and you can expect that courts will not go easy on you simply because of your young age. Some of the various consequences you may face for an underage DWI in the state of New Jersey are as follows:

  • Between 15 and 30 days of community service
  • A license suspension of anywhere between 30-90 days. If you are a teen who holds a probationary license, you will also have to complete a four-hour remedial driving course and you will not be allowed to receive your basic driver’s license for a year. If this is your second or subsequent underage DWI, however, you will most likely face an additional license suspension.
  • You may have to participate in and complete the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, at your own cost. This means that you may have to undergo an evaluation, interview, and potential treatment, depending on the circumstances of your situation.

If you have any additional questions or you’ve been charged with an underage DWI in New Jersey, feel free to speak with our knowledgeable New Jersey criminal defense attorneys today. We are here to help.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

If you have recently been charged with a crime, you need knowledgeable legal counsel on your side. Our firm has helped countless individuals navigate the complex legal system for years, and we are ready to provide you with the legal assistance you deserve and need to move on with your life. Contact Rem Katcher Law Group, P.C. today to learn more about how our firm can assist you through this difficult time.