As the usage of cell phones has increased over time, people can be seen using them almost everywhere. Unfortunately, this even includes behind the wheel of a car. In the state of New Jersey, drivers have a legal obligation to operate their vehicles in a safe manner to ensure they are not endangering themselves or others on the road. By using a cell phone while driving, they are directly violating this obligation. It is because of this that it is considered a traffic violation. When a driver is found using a cell phone while driving, they can face penalties as a result. If you have received a cell phone violation in New Jersey, it can be beneficial to contact an experienced attorney for assistance.
What is Considered a Cell Phone Violation?
Drivers who use a handheld cell phone behind the wheel of their car are not paying attention to the road ahead. This can cause very dangerous accidents on the road, putting themselves and others in harm’s way. It is because of this that it is important to leave phones untouched while driving and give the road your undivided attention. The following are common examples of cell phone violations:
- Talking on a handheld mobile phone
- Writing, sending, reading, or receiving any data. This can include text messages, emails, or using social media.
- Searching through the internet
- Watching or taking any pictures or videos
- Playing games
- Programming your cell phone GPS while driving
What are the Penalties of a Cell Phone Violation?
When a person is pulled over by law enforcement for using a cell phone while driving, they can receive a ticket. These tickets can subject the individual to certain fines that vary depending on the circumstances surrounding the violation. For example, a driver can be charged with a fine between $200 and $400 for their first cell phone violation. If they are found guilty a second time, the fine can increase from $400 to $600.
Drivers who are in violation of the state’s cell phone laws for a third or subsequent time face increased consequences. This can include a fine between $600 and $800, three points on their driving record, and the possibility of higher insurance premiums, In addition to this, severe cases may call for a license suspension.
Contact our Firm
If you or someone you know has been charged with a cell phone violation and wishes to speak with an experienced attorney, contact REM Katcher Law Group P.C. today.