What are the Consequences of a DWI in New Jersey?

It is widely known that driving while intoxicated is illegal in any state. In New Jersey, law enforcement officers work tirelessly to prevent drunk driving by holding the drivers accountable for their actions. An individual convicted of drunk driving faces harsh penalties. These penalties can vary depending on the circumstances of the offense. If you have been charged with a DWI, it is important to retain the services of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney for assistance with your case.

First Offense Penalties

Drivers who are found to have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over the legal limit of 0.08% but under 0.10% for the first time can face the following penalties as a result:

  • License suspension until the date of installation of the ignition interlock device, then the interlock device remains on the vehicle for 3 months
  • A $250-$500 fine
  • 12-48 hours at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (consecutive days or overnight)
  • Up to 30 days of jail time
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $50 Victims of Crime Compensation Board Penalty
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

It is important to note that if a driver has a BAC between .10% and .15%, they can face a license suspension until they install an interlock device. The ignition interlock device must be installed for 7-12 months. If the driver has a BAC of more than .15%, they may be subject to a license suspension for 4-6 months with an ignition interlock device on the vehicle. The driver must keep the ignition interlock device on the vehicle for 9-15 months after driving privileges are restored.

Second Offense Penalties

Drivers who are found with a BAC of .08% or more for a second time will face penalties of a more severe nature. This can include: 

  • Up to 90 days of jail time
  • A 1-2 year loss of license
  • Interlock device installation during the term of license suspension 
  • 2-4 years interlock installation after privileges restored
  • A $1000 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (overnight)
  • A $500-$1000 fine
  • A $50 Victims of Crime Compensation Board Penalty
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

Third Offense 

New Jersey takes repeat offenses very seriously. It is because of this that drivers who receive a third DWI charge within 10 years of the first charge can face the following consequences:

  • 180 days of jail time (90 of which can be spent in an inpatient facility)
  • An 8-year loss of license with an interlock installed during the term
  • 2-4 years interlock after privileges are restored
  • IDRC referral
  • A $1500 yearly surcharge for 3 years
  • A $1000 fine
  • A $100 Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $50 Victims of Crime Compensation Board Penalty
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services fund fee

Contact our Firm

If you or someone you know would like to speak with an experienced DWI attorney, contact REM Katcher Law Group P.C. today.