What are the Consequences of a First Offense DWI in New Jersey?

When a driver is charged with a DWI in the state of New Jersey, it is treated as a serious offense. A driver may be charged with a DWI if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is higher than 0.08%. If convicted, the individual could face significant fines, fees, and surcharges in addition to jail time and a suspended license. If you are facing a DWI charge, it is important that you hire an experienced attorney to effectively represent your case.

First Offense DWI

It is important to know that even if it is a driver’s first offense, law enforcement and courts still take the offense very seriously. There are a number of consequences an individual can face in the state of New Jersey if they are convicted of a DWI. This can depend on the driver’s age and driving record. Drivers who are over the age of 21 in the state of New Jersey can face the following penalties for a DWI: 

  • A maximum of 30 days incarcerated
  • License suspension for 3 to 12 months
  • $1000 surcharge every year for 3 years
  • A fine between $250 and $400
  • 12-48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • A $100 fee for the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • A $100 Drunk Driving Fund fee
  • A $75 Neighborhood Services Fund fee

An individual under the age of 21 can be charged with a DWI if their BAC is over 0.01% while driving. If convicted, the underage individual can face the following consequences:

  • License suspension between 30 and 90 days
  • 15 to 30 days of community service
  • Complete programs at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • Related fees

DWI Defense in New Jersey

When a driver is stopped by law enforcement on the road for a suspected DWI, it is important to remain calm and respectful. During the stop, an officer may administer field sobriety tests to determine their level of intoxication. There are some circumstances in which these tests are not administered correctly. In the event of this, the evidence may be thrown out in court. It is important to have an experienced attorney at your side who can determine if you were stopped unlawfully. Some defenses for field sobriety tests can include:

  • The officer failed to explain the instructions correctly
  • The officer failed to demonstrate the test for the driver
  • The officer failed to inform the driver that they were allowed to remove their high heels during the test
  • The driver has a health issue that makes it difficult or impossible to perform the tests

Contact our Firm

If you or someone you know is charged with a DWI and wishes to speak with an experienced attorney, contact REM Katcher Law Group P.C. today.