New Jersey takes driving under the influence of alcohol very seriously. If an individual is pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving, they will often undergo a series of field sobriety tests and a blood alcohol content test. If the chemical breath test or blood test indicates that the driver has a BAC of 0.08 or higher, they may be charged with driving under the influence. If the driver’s BAC is 0.10 percent or greater, they may face more serious penalties.
What are the consequences of a High BAC DUI?
It is no secret that the higher your blood alcohol content is, the penalties you face become more severe. The consequences associated with a first offense high BAC charge include the following:
- Up to 30 days of incarceration
- Driver’s license suspension for 7 to 12 months
- Between 12 and 48 hours of participation in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
- The installation of an ignition interlock device throughout the period of driver’s license suspension and for an additional 6-12 months after the driving privileges are restored
- Hundreds of dollars in fees and fines, including:
- A fine between $300 and $500
- A $100 fee to the Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
- A $100 fee to the Drunk Driving Fund
- $75 to the Neighborhood Services Fund
If you have previous convictions of driving under the influence of alcohol on your record, the consequences increase in severity. Therefore, it is critical that you retain the services of a DUI defense attorney that has the experience and skill it takes to assess your situation and look for any available defenses in your case.
Another important factor that individuals need to be aware of is that New Jersey does not have a hardship license. In other states, individuals who have a suspended license for DUI may apply for a hardship license that allows them to go to designated locations such as work or school. In New Jersey, individuals who have a suspended license for DUI do not have that option and will need to find alternative ways to get around.
If you need an experienced DUI defense attorney after being charged with an offense of this nature, contact our firm today.
If you or your family member has been charged with a DWI, having an experienced criminal defense team available to advocate on your behalf is crucial. The Rem Katcher Law Group, P.C. is here to help. Contact our firm today.