We all know that stealing is wrong. However, sometimes we are confronted with a situation where we choose to steal even though we know it is wrong. If you have been charged with shoplifting, you are likely wondering about the legal consequences and whether our firm can help you.
Below is some information to help you better understand the charge of shoplifting. Once you are finished reading, our team of knowledgeable New Jersey criminal defense attorneys is available to answer your questions and further assist you.
What are the penalties for shoplifting in New Jersey?
Theft charges in New Jersey are divided into categories based on what was stolen and the value of the item(s) stolen. If the item(s) you are charged with stealing are worth less than $200, then that is a disorderly person’s offense. Disorderly person’s offenses are less serious than felony offenses but will still be on your record as an arrest and/or subsequent conviction.
What happens now that I have been charged with shoplifting?
Disorderly persons shoplifting cases are heard in the municipal court in the town where the incident happened. Felony shoplifting charges will be heard in the County Court or Superior Court in the county where the incident occurred. You will have an opportunity to hire an attorney to represent you and you and your attorney will be entitled to receive all related police reports, video, or audio recordings that include all the information and facts about your case. You and your attorney will be able to discuss your case and determine the best way to move forward with your case based on the facts and legal issues presented.
What are the consequences of a shoplifting conviction?
A conviction for a first offense shoplifting charge can encompass fines, a lifetime ban from the store, restitution, probation and/or jail time. The specific consequences you will face for shoplifting largely depend on the dollar amount of the merchandise stolen. The greater the value of the merchandise, the more severe the consequences. The penalties for shoplifting in New Jersey are as follows:
- Stolen property valued at less than $200: This is a disorderly person’s offense, for which you may spend up to 6 months in jail and face up to $1,000 in fines.
- Stolen property valued between $200-$500: This is a 4th-degree crime, for which you may spend up to 18 months in jail and face up to $10,000 in fines.
- Stolen property valued between $500-$75,000: This is a 3rd-degree crime, for which you may spend between 3-5 years in jail and face up to $15,000 in fines.
- Stolen property valued at more than $75,000: This is a 2nd-degree crime, for which you may spend between 5-10 years in jail and face up to $150,000 in fines.
No matter the circumstances of your crime, our firm is ready to help you today.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
If you have recently been charged with a crime, you need knowledgeable legal counsel on your side. Our firm has helped countless individuals navigate the complex legal system for years, and we are ready to provide you with the legal assistance you deserve and need to move on with your life. Contact Rem Katcher Law Group, P.C. today to learn more about how our firm can assist you through this difficult time.