When a person is given a license, they are expected to safely operate their vehicle on the road. This is to ensure that everyone on the road is safe from harm. Drivers who violate the rules of the road may be charged with a traffic violation. The state of New Jersey works hard to ensure the roads are kept safe, which is why traffic violations can result in certain consequences. These consequences can vary depending on the type of violation a person receives, including points on a driving record, fines, surcharges, and even license suspension. These penalties can hurt a driving record, which is why it is important to retain the services of an experienced attorney when facing these matters.
When a person drives over the speed limit, they may be penalized under New Jersey’s point system. A conviction for this offense will result in points being placed on a person’s driving record depending on how fast they were driving over the designated speed limit. The point system in the state of New Jersey is as follows:
- 2 points for driving 1-14 miles over the speed limit
- 4 points for driving 15-30 miles over the speed limit
- 5 points for driving 30 miles over the speed limit
Excessive rates of speed, more than 30 miles over the speed limit, may also subject the driver to a period of license suspension.
Cell Phone Violations
It is widely known that it is illegal for a person to use an electronic device while operating a vehicle. Doing so can endanger the driver and anyone else on the road. If a driver violates this law, they can be issued a ticket that leads to its own consequences. This can include a fine anywhere from $200 to $800 as well as three points on a driving record.
In New Jersey, reckless driving is defined as a violation performed by a driver that willfully and wantonly disregards the rights and safety of other drivers in a way that endangers people or property. Actions that constitute reckless driving can include excessive speeding, improper lane changes, driving under the influence, and more. This can result in significant fines and even a license suspension.
Driving Without a License
Many people in the state of New Jersey do not have a driver’s license or their license was taken away by court order or by order of the MVC. If these individuals choose to drive, it is considered its own traffic violation. Depending on the nature of the offense, the individual can be charged with a minimum fine of $500 and a maximum fine of $1000 as well as possible jail time and surcharges.
Contact our Firm
If you or someone you know was charged with a motor vehicle violation and wishes to speak with an experienced attorney, contact REM Katcher Law Group P.C. today.