What are the Laws Regarding Marijuana in New Jersey?

Despite many states legalizing the recreational use of marijuana, the state of New Jersey still has strict laws against the possession and use of the drug. In fact, it is federally classified as a Schedule I drug, meaning that it is considered to be one of the most dangerous and addictive drugs. Being in possession of marijuana is a serious crime in New Jersey and can result in significant consequences. It is because of this that it is crucial to retain the services of an experienced attorney to assist with your case.

Consequences of Possession

In New Jersey, it is illegal to be in possession of marijuana. The penalties for possession can vary depending on the amount of the drug that the individual had at the time of the arrest. The consequences of marijuana possession can include the following:

  • The possession of 50 grams or less is considered a “Disorderly Person” offense and can result in a maximum of 6 months imprisonment as well as mandatory fines and penalties;
  • The possession of more than 50 grams is considered a 4th-degree felony and can result in a maximum of 18 months imprisonment, a fine of up to $25,000 and mandatory penalties

Consequences of Distribution

When a person is charged with the distribution of marijuana or possession with the intent to distribute, they can face separate consequences, including:

  • Sale or distribution or possession with intent to distribute less than 1 ounce is a crime in the 4th degree and can result in a maximum of 18 months imprisonment, a fine of $25,000 and mandatory additional financial penalties;
  • Sale or distribution or possession with intent to distribute 1 ounce to less than 5 pounds is a crime in the 3rd degree and can result in 3-5 years imprisonment, a fine of $25,000 and mandatory additional financial penalties;
  • Sale or distribution or possession with intent to distribute 5 pounds to less than 25 pounds is a crime in the 2nd degree and can result in 5-10 years imprisonment, a fine of $150,000 and mandatory additional financial penalties; 
  • Sale or distribution or possession with intent to distribute 25 pounds or more is a crime in the 1st degree and can result in 10-20 years imprisonment, a fine of $300,000 and mandatory additional financial penalties.

Medical Marijuana

It is important to know that medical marijuana is legal in the state of New Jersey. This law exists for patients of certain illnesses, such as cancer, chronic pain, glaucoma, movement disorders, anxiety, and addiction. Research suggests that medical marijuana can aid patients in pain relief, nausea, spasticity, and serve as an appetite stimulant. Patients must be licensed through the state medical marijuana program to possess medical marijuana.

Contact our Firm

If you or someone you know has been charged with a marijuana charge and wishes to speak with an experienced attorney, contact REM Katcher Law Group P.C. today.