What are the Robbery Laws in New Jersey?

There are many people who believe that theft, burglary, and robbery are all the same crime. However, they are different and have their own elements or factors. It is important to be aware of these laws and their consequences. When a person commits robbery, it is a serious offense that can result in lifelong burdens. It is because of this that it is important to retain the help of an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney when facing these situations. 

What is Robbery?

Robbery, generally, requires a theft in conjunction with some sort of force to achieve the theft. In New Jersey, there are two different robbery classifications. 

  • Robbery in the Second Degree: Theft plus force without the use of a weapon, such as pushing or shoving, or threatening to do so.
  • Robbery in the First Degree: Theft plus an attempt to kill anyone, or purposely inflict or attempt to inflict serious  bodily injury, or is armed with, or uses or threatens the immediate use of a deadly weapon.

What are the Penalties?

In the state of New Jersey, the consequences for Robbery can vary depending on the degree and the individual’s criminal record. Those convicted of Robbery in the second degree can face five to 10 years in prison. Those convicted of Robbery in the first degree can face 10 to 20 years in prison. Both offenses are subject to the No Early Release Act which mandates that an individual complete 85% of their prison term before being eligible for parole.

What are Possible Defenses to Robbery?

Those facing robbery charges should retain the services of a skilled criminal defense attorney to protect them from the uncertain future of a criminal record. An attorney can assess the case to discover all possible defenses. 

Contact our Firm

If you or your loved one has been charged with a criminal offense, having an experienced criminal defense team available to advocate on your behalf is crucial. The Rem Katcher Law Group, P.C. is here to help. Contact our firm today.