People are expected to operate their vehicles safely and with caution when they are given a driver’s license. Those who fail to do so can threaten not only their own life but the lives of those who share the road with them. Individuals who fail to abide by the rules of the road can be charged with a traffic violation. Charges vary depending on the nature of the offense committed. Law enforcement in New Jersey works hard to ensure these offenses do not take place, which is why offenders can face serious consequences as a result.
Individuals in New Jersey who drive faster than the speed limit can face certain penalties. Drivers can be assessed points on their driving record. The amount of points is based on how much over the speed limit the driver was traveling. The point system in the state of New Jersey is as follows:
- 2 points for driving 1-14 miles over the speed limit
- 4 points for driving 15-30 miles over the speed limit
- 5 points for driving 30 miles over the speed limit
It is important to know that if a driver is speeding faster than 30 miles over the speed limit, they may be subject to a period of license suspension. Individuals convicted of speeding also face court-imposed fines and costs, and may be assessed a higher insurance rate based on the number points on the driver’s record.
Cell Phone Violations
All drivers are aware that it is illegal for them to use any type of electronic device while they are driving. Using electronic devices while driving is distracting and endangers drivers and pedestrians alike. Those who violate this law can be issued a ticket, possibly resulting in a fine from $200 to $800 as well as three points on their driving record.
New Jersey defines reckless driving as a violation performed by a driver that willfully and wantonly disregards the rights and safety of other drivers in a way that endangers people or property. Actions that are considered reckless driving include excessive speeding, improper lane changes, driving under the influence, and more. This charge can subject the individual to hefty fines, the possibly a license suspension, and 5 points on their driving record.
Driving Without a License
If a person does not have a driver’s license or their license was taken away by the court, they are not legally allowed to drive. If they choose to drive anyway, it is illegal and considered a traffic violation. Depending on the circumstances of the offense, the driver can face a fine from $500 to $1000 as well as possible jail time and surcharges and additional period of license suspension.
Contact our Firm
If you or someone you know received a traffic violation and wishes to speak with an experienced attorney, contact REM Katcher Law Group P.C. today.