When a driver is convicted of an offense for driving under the influence in New Jersey, they may be subject to the installation of an ignition interlock device, sometimes referred to as an IID. This device requires an individual to take a blood alcohol content test each time they start their car. If the individual has alcohol in their system that is detected by the device, the car will not start. There are a few important things to note about an ignition interlock device per New Jersey’s Motor Vehicle Commission. These device specifications include:
- The ignition interlock device must be installed at a Motor Vehicle Commission designated service center
- The device must be set to detect a BAC of 0.05 percent
- The ignition interlock device must be serviced at least every 67 days
- The device must include a warning label that states individuals who attempt to misuse or tamper with the system may be subject to civil liability and/or prosecution
Individuals will be subject to the installation of an ignition interlock device at their own expense for a conviction of a 2nd or subsequent DWI offense. In addition, the device may be required upon conviction of a first offense DWI if the driver’s BAC was 0.15 percent or greater; and upon conviction of a first or subsequent offense for Refusal to submit to a breath test. Following a conviction for a first DWI or Refusal offense, the driver will be required to install the device during the time their driver’s license is suspended and for an additional 6 months to 1 year after the license is restored.
If you need an experienced attorney to represent you for a DWI or Refusal charge, contact Rem Katcher Law Group today.