What You Need to Know About DWI Charges in New Jersey

As the weather gets warmer, we tend to gather with friends and family to eat and drink and spend time outdoors. In the midst of the fun and excitement of socializing, many people make the poor decision to drive while under the influence of alcohol. If you are someone who was recently arrested for a DWI in New Jersey, you have a lot on the line, even if this is only your first offense. Read on and reach out to our New Jersey criminal defense lawyers to learn more about DWI charges in New Jersey and how our firm can assist you.

What happens if I get a first-offense DWI in New Jersey with a blood alcohol level (BAC) between .08% and .10%?

In December 2019, New Jersey passed a law that changed the penalties for a first-offense DWI. Under the new law, the penalties for a DWI with a BAC between .08% and .10% are as follows:

  • The installation of an ignition interlock device on your car for three months (you will lose your license until you install the device in your vehicle)
  • A potential 30-day jail sentence
  • A potential $400 fine, and an MVC surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years
  • Court-ordered participation in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (an educational program)

What are the penalties for a first-offense DWI in NJ with a BAC between .10% and .15%?

Under the new law, you will face the following consequences:

  • The installation of the ignition interlock device for 7-12 months (you will lose your license until you install the device in your vehicle)
  • A potential 30-day jail sentence
  • A potential $500 fine, and a MVC surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years
  • Court-ordered participation in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center

What happens if I’m arrested for first-offense a DWI in New Jersey with a BAC of .15% or higher?

Those convicted of a first-offense DWI with a blood alcohol content of .15% or higher will face a 4-6 month license suspension, fines, yearly surcharges, and the mandatory use of the ignition interlock device for up to 21 months, among other consequences.

No matter your circumstances, our firm is here to help in any way we can.

Contact our experienced New Jersey firm

If you have recently been charged with a crime, you need knowledgeable legal counsel on your side. Our firm has helped countless individuals navigate the complex legal system for years, and we are ready to provide you with the legal assistance you deserve and need to move on with your life. Contact Rem Katcher Law Group, P.C. today to learn more about how our firm can assist you through this difficult time.